Nominations for the 2019 Arthur Svensson Prize are now open

mandag 15. oktober 2018

Trade unions are invited to nominate candidates for the Arthur Svensson International Prize for Trade Union Rights. The deadline is January 1st 2019.

Irakli Petriashvili (ITUC), who in 2018 received the prize on behalf of union leaders from Kazakhstan suffering a travel ban, and chairman of the Prize Committee and president of Industri Energi Frode Alfheim.

Since 2010 the Svensson prize has been awarded to persons and organizations that has worked predominately to promote trade union rights and organizing around the world. Amongst the previous winners we find the teachers union in Bahrain, the Miners union in Mexico, textile workers in Cambodia and many more.

Last year the prize was awarded to the independent labour union movement of Kazakhstan. They have been persecuted, harassed and even jailed for their efforts to organize working people and provide decent labour conditions. With your help the international labour movement was able to put direct global attention to their situation

Nominate your candidate now

The nomination deadline is January the 1st 2019, but the prize committee encourage to start the nomination process as soon as possible. The nominees will be judged on at what extent the person or organization has promoted union rights and/or union organization in the world.

All employees and elected officials at all levels of unions affiliated to International Trade Union Congress or to the Global Unions are welcome to propose candidates. As well are the past recipients of the prize and board members of organizations that have received the prize in the past.

Please see the Svensson foundation web page for more information on the nomination process, and a web form where nominations can be made.

  • Jubel på Husnes: Tolv års vinter i B-hallen er over

    Tirsdag morgen kl. 09:50 kunne jubelen slippes løs på Hydro Husnes. Da ble de første ovnene i B-hallen endelig startet, etter å ha stått nedstengt og kalde i nær tolv år.

  • Meklingen med Axpeak er avlyst

    Industri Energi har krevd tariffavtale i selskapet Axpeak som driver med offshore inspeksjoner. Forbundet skulle i mekling med bedriften torsdag. Den er nå avlyst. – Det betyr at det heller ikke kan bli streik nå, sier Erling Holmefjord som leder arbeidslivsavdelingen i Industri Energi.